give thanks

Autumn cornucopia

1 Chronicles 16:8-11 – O give thanks to the Lord, call on his name, make known his deeds among the peoples.   Sing to him, sing praises to him, tell of all his wonderful works.  Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice.  Seek the Lord and his strength, seek his presence continually.

On Thanksgiving, it’s good to think about the harvest in your life.  What have you have planted and tended recently?  What bore fruit?  And what withered because of adverse conditions or lack of care?   Are you singing praises for the bounty before you?

Give thanks to God for all that has been harvested in your soul.  Give thanks for the things that have been a blessing.  Give thanks for the failures and shortcomings, because we often learn more about life from failing that succeeding.  Give thanks for the little things that make up the fullness of life.  Give thanks with a grateful heart.

As we come to the end of the liturgical year,  I am especially thankful for the experiences I have had with my blog this year.  When I launched it on Epiphany this year, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  Would I be able to sustain the writing?  Would anyone read it?   How would it take shape?

I had ambitions of posting 2-3 times a week, but found there were dry spots where I had nothing to say for weeks at a time.   Some of my closest friends and family never subscribed to or read my blog, but people I didn’t really know found it really meaningful.   My relationship with God grew as I explored the seasons, stories and symbols of the church year.

As I look at the harvest before me, I give thanks for so many things.  I give thanks for the fellow travelers who have encouraged me to continue this journey.  I give thanks for the time to read, reflect and write on the cycles in the church year and explore how these cycles and stories relate to our lives.  I give thanks to God for moments of inspiration when words flowed easily, but also the desert times, when I had nothing to share.  The bounty of this harvest is greater than I could have ever imagined.

What are you thankful for?  What is the bounty from the harvest of your soul?  And how do you show your thankfulness?  Give thanks to God!  Tell of these mighty acts!  Sing praises to the Lord!

One thought on “give thanks

  1. Love this insight, an added thought often the thanksgiving is not seen when given or offered, often it might not look like something to be thankful for until days later.

    This posting helped a tough Thanksgiving, but a thankful one.

Leave a comment